Floored and Bamboozled

Still have heard anything from the IRS – you didn’t think they worked on the weekend, did you? While we wait, we’re doing a little research into some of the renovating we’d like to do at the house.

All the flooring will have to be replaced and hubby and I have decided that we don’t want any carpet, just wood and tile. I can’t remember the last time I lived in a house that didn’t have carpet – maybe when I was a kid, before carpet was invented – haha.

In looking at wood options, I keep coming back to a relative newcomer, bamboo flooring. It’s amazing how it can go from this:

to this:

I have learned that bamboo is a grass, not a tree, and that it grows relatively quickly, making it a more “green” resource to use. Strand bamboo is made by shredding the bamboo and forming the planks under great pressure, making an extremely hard flooring. I have also learned that there is carbonized bamboo, which gets a lot of negative reviews because it scratches and dents easily – with one kid, 4 dogs, and a cat, we’ll be steering clear of carbonized!

If anyone has any comments or suggestions about wood or bamboo flooring, please post them – I would love to hear them!

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Floored and Bamboozled

  1. donnahuebsch says:

    Thanks to my friend Allison for her comment on Facebook regarding bamboo: “My cousin recently built a house, her husband is a builder, and they put the bamboo through the entire house. Its easy to take care of and practically indestructable. ( she has 3 rowdy kids)”

  2. donnahuebsch says:

    Thanks also to my sister Pat who e-mailed me a comment about cork: “My yoga classroom has it and they are pretty high on it. check out http://www.riverrockyoga.com

Leave a Reply

