Happy Anniversary, Birthday & Extension!

Let me start in reverse order – yes, we signed an extension on the sales contract for the house.  Now it says we’ll close on or before Jan. 18th – why they picked Tues. next week I don’t know, but that’s fine.

Second, happy birthday to my niece Kerri – it’s the big 4-0, which is hard to believe.  I can remember when she was very small and we were driving to visit Mamaw and Papaw.  I had a CB radio at the time (for all you young whipper snappers, that’s what people had before cell phones).  We would play “airplane”, where I was the pilot and she was the flight attendant, and we would pretend to use the mike.  At one point she told the passengers to “put all seats in an upright position and please DISTINGUISH all cigarettes.”  See, I’m still teasing her about that 35 years later :o)

And finally, if mom were still living, this would be my parents’ 69th anniversary.  I love the story of their elopement.  Mom had just turned 17 and Dad was 19.  They went to the justice of the peace and got married.  Then Dad took her back home, because they didn’t have any place to live yet!  She didn’t tell her family, and when Dad came back about a week later to get her, Granddaddy saw him coming and said, “You needn’t think you’re going anywhere with that wall-eyed Bill Fairley.”  Grandma, who was a woman of few words, piped up and said, “Well, she might as well – she’s married to him!”   I’m not sure how she knew, but I imagine that’s not how Mom had planned to tell her parents.

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy Anniversary, Birthday & Extension!

  1. Cathy says:

    Hi Donna! What sweet stories 🙂 I got your note and I’d love to partner up. (I’ll send an email, too.) Looking forward to reading more on your blog! All best wishes, Cat

  2. eof737 says:

    Beautiful… the gift of family and the stories they share 🙂
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

