What’s Taking So Long?

Another day has gone by and still no word from the IRS regarding the lien against the house we’re buying.  Maybe it’s just my mindset from my old days as a systems engineer with IBM, but this is really slow response time.

I keep wondering what could possibly take them this long, and I imagine the likely scenario. IRS: “Well, we meet weekly to review these items, and our next meeting is on Thursday – call me back that afternoon and I’ll have an answer for you.”

I imagine other scenarios that, while very unlikely, are much more entertaining to think about.  What if the IRS said:

“Hmm, that deal will leave us really short.  Look, I’m going to have to ask my mother.  I’ll get back to you.”.

OR

“Well, I’ll have to clear that with the Pope – he’s a tough guy to get an audience with, so check with me next month.”

OR

“Wow, I’m not really sure about that offer – let me check with my magic 8-ball…oops, it says “TRY LATER”.  You’d better call me back tomorrow.”

OR

“Sorry, but this is the 13th and we only make decisions on days that have an even whole number as the square root…call me back on the 16th.”

Honestly, I think I could do this all day!  If you have any other scenarios you’d like to share, I’d love to heard them…leave me a comment! :o)

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What’s Taking So Long?

  1. ElizOF says:

    Or IRS: We want to take another stab at your deductions and plug any loopholes that might save you 2 cents…. OR The Pope is having lunch with my mother next month, I’ll have an answer by then. 🙂 lol!
    This was funny but on a serious note, thy are probably swamped with all the requests that fly in…. Stay on top of them and say a few Hail Mary’s 😉
    Looks like I’ll be doing the vampire schedule for blog visits/comments…
    My day times are getting hectic…. but I’m all in. 🙂
    Elizabeth

  2. cathykal says:

    Given my experience with similar matters, I’d say it’s most likely to be “That’s a really good question. Considering the snow we’ve had up north, I’d say contact Santa Claus and the pigs. If Santa Claus is flying, then you’re in luck, it’s a belated holiday miracle and I can get you that info next week. If the pigs are flying, you’ll have it today.”

Leave a Reply

