The Latest Epiphany Results Are…

We had planned to go over to the house this afternoon and test my epiphany about fitting the door into the opening from the INSIDE of the house.  However, I am not a good waiter, and I went by the house yesterday after I picked K up at school.

The first thing I did was fix the right side gate to the back yard.  It was dangling by one hinge, so I got the gate upright, re-pinned the top hinge and latched the gate back.

Then I walked around back to take a look at the door.  A look at the opening didn’t bode well for my theory.  The stucco on the outer wall angled AWAY from the opening, actually making the opening bigger on the outside than it was on the inside.

How much bigger was the door than the opening?  I scrounged up a tape measure…opening: 31-1/2″….door: 36″.  Yeah, we’re definitely not going to squeeze that door in there.  So I imagine that the first order of business upon closing will be for us to purchase and install a new back door!

And speaking of closing, did I mention that I’m not a good waiter?  I’ve been struggling with my antsyness while we wait to get word of a closing date.  Last night I came up with a strategy to try… I’m going to pretend that the closing is imminent – like, let’s say, Tuesday of next week.  I’m going to get busy with all the activities that need to be done prior to us moving into the house – preparing the RV for storage, picking providers for phone, TV, and Internet service at the new location, lining up service techs for the A/C system, etc.  That way, when we DO close, I won’t be rushing around like crazy, and have our moving-in delayed.  Now, I must go on-line and shop for a 31-1/2″ wide entry door… 😮

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Latest Epiphany Results Are…

  1. Grading Girl says:

    Buying a new house is so exciting! There’s so much work involved that can be grueling yet so fulfilling when it’s done. Good luck with your new door!!!

  2. Waiting is tough! Especially when your new home is just sitting there waiting for You! Good plan to keep busy and act like the date is already set …
    Just think, by this time next month, you will be all settled in………. 🙂

  3. ElizOF says:

    Do show us pictures when you get that door in place… Hang in there as it will come to na end sometime soon. 🙂
    E

Leave a Reply

