Fridge Diving

I’ve been sticking with my strategy of pretending like the closing is imminent, and trying to do things that must get done prior to moving.  And truly, it’s not really pretending, because the IRS lien is the only thing standing in the way, and once that’s settled, we will probably close the next day!  So the closing IS actually imminent, we just don’t know the exact date.

The RV will have to be spic and span when it goes into storage.  After almost two years of being lived in, it is NOT spic and span right now.  Yesterday I tackled one of the two fridges, which looked like a science experiment had run amuck.

Since I am an undiagnosed ADDer (they didn’t have ADD when I was a kid!), I worked in little spurts.  I threw out the dried up chives, out-of-date dips and old cream.  When I ran across the crescent rolls, I stopped: “I meant to make pigs in a blanket for the kids on New Year’s Eve and I didn’t.  Hmm, think I’ll do that right now.”  Happily distracted, I wrapped dough around little sausages and popped them in the oven.

More cleaning and discarding.  “Ooo, I’d better take the trash bags to the dumpster.”    I bundled up and trekked over to the campground dumpster.

Back to cleaning out the fridge.  DING.  Time to check the sausages.  “I think they need a few more minutes for the dough to brown.”

More cleaning – by this time, I am done with tossing the old stuff and I’m in the wipe down phase. “What IS this stuff stuck to the bottom of the fridge??”

DING.  The pigs in a blanket are done.  I remove them from the tray and cover them in foil to stay warm, ’til K and her friend swing by during their dog walking.  I also pour waters for the girls.

What was I doing?  Oh, yeah, back to wiping the fridge.  The unknown substance seems to be glued to the bottom of the fridge.  After a lot of elbow grease, it finally comes clean, and I decide to call it a night.

If I’m lucky, I’ll finish with the first fridge today, and start on the second.  Once they’re both clean, there’s the matter of defrosting to take care of, don’t you think?

While we wait to close, I’m also working on our kitchen renovation dilemma…if I can find the photos I took at the house (which I think I loaded onto the other computer), I will share that with you tomorrow!

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fridge Diving

  1. I really do think we could have been “cut from the same mold!” We too, are in the process of selling our house only, we haven’t started the process yet (officially). We’ve been talking to people about it and planning to put it on the market in the spring but a married couple 12 hours away have caught wind of it and are coming to look at it soon, but a date isn’t set yet. They want to come in the winter…so soon. Now the frantic…clean and make the place look nice for showing! Good luck with your final details and we’ll share a toast on closing day.

  2. eof737 says:

    You have plenty of work on your hands… Anyone else helping you with all these chores? It sounds like you are ready for a little pack up party, no? Keep your chin up 🙂
    Stop by and read my funny post from last night…
    Elizabeth

  3. Aditi says:

    OMG, Post cleaning is super satisfying but process itself is very torturous.. LOL
    I always end up super cleaning my home with tooth brush when i am in a crappy mood. So for me it works as a therapy 🙂 .
    Let me know if you need a helping hand .. i will love to extend a virtual palm …giggles

  4. gnxmusic says:

    There is riding out an energy burst on a fridge cleaning fit. Every time I clean out my fridge I get one step better at organizing it.

  5. Michele says:

    I’m a big fan of using a hair dryer to speed the defrosting.

Leave a Reply

