This Kitchen’s Gotta Go!

Today’s the expiration date on our sales contract…do you think we’ll close? I’m thinking, not a chance! I imagine I’ll be getting a call asking us to sign an extension to the extension to the extension…I’m losing track of how many times we’ve extended this contract! We’re so close – press on is all I say!

I promised yesterday to share our thinking on what we’ll do with the kitchen – its issues are poor layout and lack of appliances. Hubs and I agree that we want to reconfigure the kitchen – we think we may knock out a wall that’s between the kitchen and a small room we call the “den”…the den, like the kitchen, looks like the old owners created it by enclosing part of the porch. If we do this, the kitchen can get a little bigger and we can also create a breakfast nook, which the house lacks.

And while we’re on the subject of knocking down walls, I’m also interested in knocking down the wall that separates the den and kitchen from the family room. If we open up that area, I think we’d have room to install a nice island in the kitchen, and I love, LOVE, LOVE having an island!  However, that wall is load bearing and hubby thinks that we may not be able to get a beam in there for support.  Since he’s a structural engineer, he knows what he’s talking about, but I can’t let go of that idea until we’re 100% sure it won’t work.

Now, on the issue of appliances,  we have the decision of “do we buy the appliances now?” vs. “do we wait ’til we reconfigure the kitchen?” (which could be a while).  If we wait, it means setting up a temporary kitchen consisting of a hot plate, microwave, toaster oven, crockpot, electric griddle, gas grill and any other cooking device I can get my hands on.  The only thing I would have to buy is the hot plate – we have everything else in storage.

If we decide to buy the appliances now, we have to make absolutely, POSITIVELY sure they’re something we can use for the remodel.  We have to decide whether we want another wall oven or switch to a range.  We have to decide whether we want an electric stove, or have a propane tank installed so that we can have gas.  We have to decide whether we want a microwave with a stove vent fan built in or just plain.  Lots and lots of interesting thinking to do!

I have to say, we’re leaning toward the “buy the appliances now” option.  With a little more research, we should be in a position to make some choices and get them purchased soon.  This is gonna be FUN!

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Renovation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This Kitchen’s Gotta Go!

  1. Oh my gosh! I am thinking so completely opposite of you guys! I’m thinking…make do with what you’ve got and use the time to stash away extra cash & buy what you REALLY want when the plans are done for the new (and improved) kitchen! LOL

  2. eof737 says:

    My, my my… this is quite the project. I am curious to hear about the follow up to your extension. I believe you will look back someday and wonder how you managed to perform all those tasks and still find time to blog about it… Keep it up. 🙂
    E

Leave a Reply

