Yes, Another Extension

As expected, I got a phone call from our agent yesterday regarding an extension to the contract.  She said the listing agent asked if they could just change the “1” to a “2” and make the closing date on or before the 28th instead of the 18th.  We said OK.  My daughter asked if we were sure they didn’t mean the “1” in the year, to make it 2012 instead of 2011…smarty pants.

Back to constructive waiting…I asked hubby what he thought we absolutely, positively had to get done before we have all our household items delivered from storage, where they’ve been since Thanksgiving, 2009.   His reply was, “Fix the A/C and install a back door.”

So after I dropped K. off at her classes yesterday afternoon, I headed up to a nearby Home Depot to shop for a door.  I have to admit that going to Home Depot usually stresses me out – something about the noise, the size, the lighting.  Whenever I accompanied hubby on a trip to pick up something, he would browse happily like a kid in a candy store, while I would invariably leave with what I called a Home Depot headache.

Yesterday was different – the minute I walked in the door I got this warm, fuzzy feeling all over.  My feet felt all floaty and I had a little smile I couldn’t wipe off my face.  I looked at light fixtures, tubs, and flooring; I caressed granite countertops; I had a good time!  Very odd phenomenon.

Anyway, there was a door that should work, a JELD-WEN solid core 9-lite wood door.  Hubby had seen it on the Internet and the store had several in stock:

We wanted solid core so that we could trim it down to fit the 31-1/2″ door opening.   However, in speaking with the sales clerk in that department, my new best friend Joe, I found out some interesting information.  He said that the old door (which is missing) was probably a steel door, and that steel doors are a little smaller than stated, i.e. a 32″ steel door is actually a little less than 32″.   Kind of like a 2 x 4 is actually a 1-1/2 x 3-1/2…it makes me want to go on a campaign to reform the industry standard of measurements for construction materials!  I think I’d better just focus on this remodel and maybe do a little shopping for a steel door. 😮

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yes, Another Extension

  1. Aditi says:

    Donna, Wow never knew that shopping for door is such a tedious process. You should title your Door posts as Chronicles of the new door 😀
    So steel door now?

    • donnahuebsch says:

      Well, now I’m not sure – hubby came home and says he thinks steel doors ARE exactly what they say – so a 32″ door IS a 32″ door, and we wouldn’t be able to cut a steel door to size. I am going to take a tape measure to Home Depot and find out for sure.

  2. Ben Crawford says:

    I actually asked my dad this question years ago. The lumber yard actually cuts the 2 x 4 or any other dimension to that size, but with drying and planing the 2 x 4 actually comes out to 1.5 x 3.5 inches. In the larger sizes like 2 x 8 and higher the wide side is actually 3/4 inches smaller. 2 x 8 equals 1.5 x 7.25 inches.

  3. eof737 says:

    What a saga… You will have plenty of material for an e-book when you are finished with the process. Do you need a steel door?
    Aren’t there ways to reconfigure the w/h of a door…
    Keep us posted.
    By the way, I like the door above 🙂
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

