This Door’s Got Me Sore!

My new best friend Joe at Home Depot got me all excited that I might find a steel door that would fit the odd-sized opening at our house and be a quick install.  However, hubby came home yesterday and burst my bubble.  “Steel doors aren’t smaller – they’re EXACTLY what the measurement says.”  In other words, a 32″ steel door isn’t going to be 31-1/2″ wide, it’s going to be exactly 32″.  Whom do I believe?  My husband?  The sales clerk at Home Depot?  Should I have said “who” or “whom”??  It’s a world gone mad!!  I’m taking a tape measure to Home Depot and find out for myself!

In the meantime, if we decide to go with a wood door that we can trim down to fit, there’s a second choice to the one I mentioned yesterday – a JELD-WEN Solid Core 15-Lite.  Take a look at the two side by side:

JELD-WEN Solid Core 9-Lite Wood Door

JELD-WEN Solid Core 15-Lite Wood Door

I can’t decide – which one do you like better?  Take my poll!

Thanks for your opinion!!

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Renovation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This Door’s Got Me Sore!

  1. cathykal says:

    I think it’s whom 😉 And as for me, I’d bring hubby to meet new best friend right in Home Depot. Let them get all the facts straight right there in the door aisle. Good luck!

  2. Aditi says:

    If I had to pick one, I will pick Solid Core 15-Lite Wood Door. I loved the design, other door which is half solid is slightly closed for me . 🙂 Oh and i voted for the same 🙂

  3. eof737 says:

    I like the 9-lite door and voted for it. It looks solid unlike the other one that looks more like a screen door. Now, I know you are still looking for that steel door so if you find it… go for it. Just my two cents 🙂
    I’m on my vampire schedule today… even if I don’t show up as the posts arrive in my box, I will make the effort to catch up. Don’t count me out yet 🙂
    Have a great weekend!
    Eliz

  4. Mark says:

    Jim,

    Pick the easiest one to install!

    (and if you go with the 9 lite door, the curtains won’t drag on the floor for the cat to play with)

  5. Deb says:

    I chose the 9 lite wood door-mostly because you can walk past it without pants on. With the other door you pretty much have to be clothed all the time. With the half door throw on a t-shirt for the top half and your good. Also if you have valuable stuff you can place it just below the windows in the half door-with the other door the thieves will be able to see everything you got. So even though 14 whole people have voted so far I know that the overall vote will see the practicality of the half window/half door. I will place an exception for those who are even more insightful than I and voted for the steel bars-now that’s practical!

Leave a Reply

