I’m Not So Well-Adjusted

I visited a chiropractor last week for a problem I’ve been having with my left arm — I have a limited range of motion and sharp pains anywhere from my shoulder down to my elbow.  With our upcoming renovation activities, like stripping wallpaper and lots of painting, I knew I needed to get this remedied, fast!

I went back to the same chiropractor who worked wonders when my feet hurt so badly that I could hardly walk.  My Pilates instructor had recommended him when I told her about my foot problems; even my primary care physician uses him for her chiropractic issues.  He’s really good at what he does.

I sat on the exam table while he put my arm through a variety of positions to determine what my issues were.  Then he got out something that looked like a cross between a sci-fi space ray gun and a mini-jackhammer and he pounded around my scapula and shoulder for a while.  Even though I jumped and jerked and said “OW!” a lot, I could move my arm much better when he was done.  He said I’ll need a few more of those treatments to completely clear it up.

I thought I was done, but after a little more checking, he decided I really, really needed a neck adjustment.  I had never had a chiropractic adjustment before…the only adjustments I had ever encountered involved my parents threatening to give me an attitude adjustment when I was a kid.

I must admit, adjustments are a very gray concept to me…what exactly IS an adjustment?  Why do they usually involve sudden yanking or twisting? What is all the snapping and popping you hear that sound like bones breaking?  Why are they supposed to be good for you?

Now, in my defense, I will say that I did not realize the neck adjustment was coming.  He had me lying on the exam table, face up, with my head between his hands.  He asked me to turn my head left and breathe out.  All of a sudden he twisted my head to the right, and there was such a SNAP, CRACKLE, POP you wouldn’t believe!

The really embarrassing part is that I shrieked really loudly because it scared the BEJEEBERS out of me!!  The scene from “In the Line of Fire” flashed through my mind – you know, the one where John Malkovich follows the bank employee to her apartment and kills her and her roommate by twisting their heads and breaking their necks.  After a couple of seconds, when I realized that I was still alive and not paralyzed, I started to laugh and cry at the same time, which was even MORE embarrassing!

So while my neck is well-adjusted, I think I’m personally not so much – I’m such a weenie, that I may have to by-pass any more neck adjustments 😮

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m Not So Well-Adjusted

  1. Dixie says:

    That was a hoot, Donna. Do you have any stories from K on her various encounters with yoga instructors, etc? We are all keeping our fingers crossed for her!

  2. Yikes….sounds scary! Laughing and crying at the same time – the chiro probably had no clue what to do …. that’s funny! 🙂

  3. eof737 says:

    I do hope you feel better… Those head twists used to scare me too… I never could get used to them but hey, they do work! 🙂
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

