Optimist or Pessimist?

Since my blog is a journal of my family’s current house hunting adventures, I don’t usually use the DailyPost topic suggestions, but today’s brought back such a funny memory, I had to share it!  Today’s topic was “Are you an optimist or a pessimist?”

Years ago, when I was in elementary school, my parents were in college, obtaining advanced degrees in the field of education.  One of my Dad’s classes was about all the standardized psychological testing they do for kids – Stanford-Binet, Wechsler, whatever they had back then, and I was his guinea pig.  He would practice administering the tests to me, and I, in turn, enjoyed my dad’s undivided attention.

During one oral test, Dad asked the question, “What is the difference between an optimist and a pessimist?”  Confidently I answered, “An optimist is an eye doctor and a pessimist is a foot doctor.”  Normally good at keeping a straight face, my father laughed out loud.  “Well, I guess that’s one way of looking at it,” he said.

To answer today’s topic question, I would say that I’m a short-term pessimist and a long-term optimist.  My knee-jerk reaction to any situation is usually a “woe is me” attitude.  Then after I take a little time to think things over with a realistic, logical point of view, I feel that things will work out fine.  Maybe I’m an eye doctor after all. 😮

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Optimist or Pessimist?

  1. Deb says:

    I guess without extensive explanation I would more likely fall into the pessimist category. This choice because I tend to have critical analyzing skills. I will most often see why something will fail instead of why it will succeed. However, with this view I then can fine tune the event or object so it will be overall more successful. So I think as long as a pessimist has a get-er-done attitude it can be a positive thing, maybe? My husband is definitely the optimist but often not based on reality. When asked WHY? do you believe or think this will work or be successful there is little to no substance behind the thought. Just general optimism will not in and of itself produce positive results. The bottom line the world needs both eye doctors and foot doctors-lol!

  2. Aditi says:

    I had been a pessimist but after many long discussions, at time argue sessions and some scolding from my mom, now i am a proud member of optimist group 🙂 But yes at times its hard to keep your chin up and face something/someone head on . It gets difficult and that’s how you learn to make it easy

  3. eof737 says:

    I love that definition 🙂 I am an optimist too… Even when things are down, we remember it’s short-lived.
    Eliz

  4. caseymichelle12 says:

    haha, i’ve never thought of it like that! I think i’m probably a pessimist in the short-term and an optimist in the long-term when i’ve had time to think it over too.

Leave a Reply

