Good Gracious, Grillades are Great!

When we visited my sister at her farm last Thanksgiving, she offered us grillades (pronounced GREE-yahds) over yellow grits one morning.  I had no idea what grillades was, but it smelled and looked great, so I tried it.  It had been a long time since a new dish caught my fancy like this.  I had grillades for breakfast, for a snack, and at every opportunity until it was gone.

Of course I asked for the recipe, and I just got around to making grillades for the first time.  The recipe source is a site called Epicurious, and you can view it by clicking on Hunter-Style Grillades.

I will share a few comments about my grillades-making experience.  First, don’t let the lengthy list of ingredients scare you away – much of it is spices, and it’s very easy to dump them together.  The hardest part of it for me was to pound the meat to the proper thickness, but that was because my meat pounder is in storage, and I refused to buy a new one just for this recipe…I tried to make do with the back side of an ice cream scoop *LOL!*

I chopped the veggies by hand, not just because my Cuisinart is in storage, but because it’s therapeutic…I like having my veggies in nice, even-sized little chunks, so I probably dice more than chop. Also, my large stock pot is in storage, so I cooked the meat and the veggies in batches in my large iron skillet, and then put them into my 4-1/2 qt. pan, which worked out fine.

Finally, since I made it for dinner, I served it over brown rice.  It was delicious, and even better when we had it for leftovers last night – the flavors had a chance to mingle 😮

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Food/Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Good Gracious, Grillades are Great!

  1. Ben Crawford says:

    Grillades and Grits is an old New Orleans standard on many of the family run restaurants in the Big Easy. Something about pork and gravy and grits that warms you up on a chilly humid New Orleans morning like this dish. I may break dawn and make some for breakfast this weekend…but then I will eat on it all weekend.

    • donnahuebsch says:

      Go for it, Ben! Make a big batch and it will get even better as leftovers 😮 It’s funny that you mentioned that it is an old New Orleans dish. I didn’t know anything about the origins of the recipe, but just the name “Grillades” made me think it was from Louisiana – I don’t know why. Maybe it’s because I can almost picture someone like Justin Wilson saying, “You’ll like these Grillades, I gar-on-tee!”

  2. eof737 says:

    What a delicious and easy recipe. Never heard of it before…
    Thanks for this one 🙂
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

