Crazy Pizza

I make pizza pretty often at our place — I really like my homemade version better than any delivery or frozen pizza.  Plus when you make your own, you can control the quality of the ingredients.  Not long ago, hubby came home raving about a B-B-Q chicken pizza he’d had for lunch at work, so I thought I’d give it a go.

 

I had a little bit of chopping prep – a slice of red onion, a little orange sweet pepper freshly picked from K.’s Topsy Turvy planter, and some leftovers from a rotisserie chicken the day before.

 

Then, with oiled hands, I flattened out the yeast dough on a lightly floured pizza pan.  I think that this type of crust is probably the single most important factor in creating a fabulous homemade pizza.  With my bread machine and mixer both in storage, I just buy a prepared yeast dough at my local grocery store.  It’s a refrigerated dough ball which you let sit at room temperature for an hour or so, and then shape it.

 

 

Then came the fun part – adding ingredients!  I spread pizza sauce on half the dough and B-B-Q sauce on the other half.  I sprinkled shredded mozzarella cheese on the whole thing, followed by pepperoni.

 

 

 

Since K. is a pepperoni-only kind of gal, I left half the pizza alone and enhanced the other side with all the chopped goodies:  onion, sweet pepper and chicken.  After sprinkling on a little more cheese, I baked it in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes.

 

 

Voila!  One delicious crazy pizza!  I had meant to take a picture of the whole thing, but hubby was such a hungry bear that I forgot to take the picture until it was minus 2 pieces 😮

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Food/Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crazy Pizza

  1. eof737 says:

    You are a fabulous cook Donna and the pictures are yummy. I make a mean baked ziti and made a fantastic version for my kids yesterday but the silly camera wouldn’t take clear pictures 🙂 Love your dish and photos. love it!
    Eliz

  2. Looks fantastic! I’ve been craving pizza too. One of my favorites is a chicken, bacon barbecue. It’s really yummy…probably very close to what your hubby had and what you made.

  3. last_lines says:

    You had me at “Pizza”! 🙂
    Your pizza looks divine and I bet it tastes even better.
    Thanks for sharing.
    Now I feel like some pizza.
    -Kim

  4. Cathy says:

    ohmigosh! I wasn’t hungry til I read this post. Now I’ve gotta get right home and bake, lol!

Leave a Reply

