Our Adventure Has Begun

It was great working on the house this weekend!  Yesterday Jim finished installing the deadbolt on the back door – looks great…he’s such a handy guy 😮  We also managed to clean out half the storage unit we rent, and tonight we did the other half…we’re supposed to leave it broom clean, but something had leaked and there’s blue-green goo on the floor.  I’ll make a trip tomorrow to clean that up, and that should take care of that.

I made a call this morning to schedule the movers to deliver our things.  Fortunately, they can come this Thursday – it’s so exciting!  It’s going to seem like Christmas – our stuff has been in storage since Nov. 2009.  The same guy whose team packed us up and took our things to storage is going to deliver them to Clearwater – he was really good, so I’m glad we were able to get him.

I also left a message for the Clearwater Gas sales rep – he will be able to come out and tell us how much it will cost to run a gas line to our house – I really would love to get gas appliances.

Our new neighbors seem very nice – I had run by the house this afternoon to pick up an item we had stored in the garage.  I noticed that someone had put our trash can out by the curb, and as I was leaving, I ran into my neighbor who was walking out to put our trash can back…very thoughtful!

Tomorrow we plan to go over to the house and make sure that there are no exposed electrical wires.  Right now we have the power off at the breaker box – so many of the fixtures were removed, and we want to make sure that all the wires have wire nuts on them before we leave the power on.

I also need to get a couple of estimates on new A/C systems, estimates for replacing 2 skylights, and schedule someone to come clean the chimney and dryer vent…busy, busy!

I hope everyone has had a very lovely Valentine’s Day 😮

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our Adventure Has Begun

  1. Sounds like a very exciting time. Congratulations!

  2. Pam says:

    Pictures! We need pictures!

    • donnahuebsch says:

      I’m working on it! Actually, I just got back from shooting a quick video tour – I’m going to get K. to help me put it on YouTube and I’ll post a link to it…I do have some other pictures in the meantime that I will try to post :o)

Leave a Reply

