Thermostat Wars

I am taking the coward’s way out, and posting a couple of favorites from my old blog while we try to settle into the new house.  Hope you enjoy 😮

Here’s an equation for you:

1 post-menopausal woman who’s carrying around a little more weight than she’d like +
1 man on medication to lower his blood pressure and slow his heart rate = PERPETUAL THERMOSTAT WARS!!

I never thought it would happen to us. I used to shake my head at the bickering between my parents over turning the A/C up or down. “Wow, it’s so great that we both like the house at the same temperature – we’re just so compatible,” I’d think to myself.

And then, a few years ago, it changed – I morphed into this woman who seemed to be constantly overheated. I’ve been known to throw a pair of jeans into the fridge just to tolerate putting on long pants. About the same time, hubby started heart meds which made it harder for him to stay warm. It’s a pretty common sight at our house to see me sitting on the sofa sweating in a T-shirt and shorts, while he’s bundled up in quilts like Nanook of the North.

A few days ago, hubs asked for a Hershey’s kiss from the candy bag on the counter. I passed him one, and when he popped it into his mouth, he casually asked, “Why is the candy soft?” “Because – it’s – so – HOT – in – here!” I practically shouted.

Maybe when we build our house here, we can incorporate some little custom environmental zones – a hot spot for him, and a cold one for me 😮

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thermostat Wars

  1. I unschooled my teens. Would love to hear how that is going for you. Also, so nice to hear that there are still a few menopausal moms out there blogging (though I think I’m finally done with hotflashes, at least for the winter). Thanks.

  2. donnahuebsch says:

    Unschooling seems to work pretty well for us – when we first started homeschooling in 6th grade, I tried to recreate school at home…well, you can imagine how that went. At first unschooling was scary – as time went by, it was the only form of education that seemed to make sense for us. K. actually takes 2 classes a day at a local private school, and then the rest of the time, we pursue whatever interests her.

  3. eof737 says:

    Having hot/cool spots for each of you might work…. hope your flashes pass… 🙂
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

