“Janitors of Their Possessions”

“Many wealthy people are little more than janitors of their possessions.” ~ Frank Lloyd Wright

This quote has always fascinated me…I don’t know what prompted Frank Lloyd Wright to make such an observation, but I have to say, Frank, I am in total agreement with you on this one.

While we’re not wealthy, we are fortunate to have enough money to buy everything we need, plus a lot of what we want.  And in 50+ years of living, we’ve accumulated a lot of … STUFF.  I know this because it took 2 trucks to deliver all our STUFF to our new house on Thursday.  There is so much STUFF filling our garage, guest room, living room and dining room that you can’t walk through them.

Online organizational coach FlyLady (aka Marla Cilley) offers good advice to people like me who are living in CHAOS (Can’t Have Anyone Over Syndrome) because their homes are too cluttered.  She has an interesting acronym for STUFF: “Something That Undermines Family Fun.”  People who have a lot of STUFF spend way too much time trying to deal with their STUFF, and too little time with family, friends, and all the interesting things life has to offer.  So what do you do if you’re drowning in STUFF?

First of all, she says you can’t organize clutter – it has to go. Her advice is, if you don’t use it or love it – get rid of it!  And if it seems too overwhelming FlyLady says, “Know your limits and do a little each and every day. Before you know it, your home will be de-cluttered and you will have your life back.”

What an opportune time for us to apply the “use it or love it” criteria…in the process of unpacking our moving boxes, we will be touching everything that we own.  I am going to make my best effort to divest ourselves of the junk we have been dragging around for 30 years or so…I don’t want to end up spending my life as the janitor of my possessions!

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Janitors of Their Possessions”

  1. eof737 says:

    Good luck with the unpacking… don’t forget to get some outside help or ask for help if you need it… Have those house warming parties going 🙂
    Elizabeth

  2. Mariann says:

    Each time I have moved I have tried to move with less stuff. My problem has been finding people who need my extra stuff. I have a problem throwing out perfectly good stuff that other people can use. Speaking of stuff, ask hubs if he remebers his “itchy” blanket. I plan on bringing it with me, along with the Webers and Mentholatum.

    M

  3. Pat says:

    I am looking forward to seeing your progress as you de-clutter. Just post pictures of your junk as you pitch it, a little pile every day—that would be fun to see!

  4. Sonja says:

    Sobering thoughts and so very true. I discovered, just last year, that unpacking is the worst part of moving for me. Depressing really, I need chocolate just thinking about it. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

