Breaking and Entering

I knew it would happen sooner or later — I managed to lock K. and myself out of the house this afternoon! We had walked out back to watch the dogs when we let them out. We chatted and watched wildlife across Allen’s creek. When we tried to go back in, the door was locked 😦 The back door is different from what I’m used to – you can actually open it when’s it’s locked. However, if you don’t flip the little lock to the open position, the door will lock when you close it…and that’s what happened to us!

We checked every door and they were all locked. Our cell phones were inside, so we couldn’t call hubby. We decided to try to get a window open. I remembered Jim saying that one room was missing the clips that lock the window, so we went to that window to try to get in.

First I had to pry the screen off — K. gasped as I was trying to pull it out and I thought a killer spider was about to get me…however, it was just a lizard and a dead one at that. I did manage to hurt my frozen shoulder with all my wild flailing. The screen came out, but not before about half of it ripped out of the frame.

Once the screen was out, I pried open the window with a tent stake, and got it open enough to get my fingers under it and push it entirely open. Our next problem was a stack of boxes blocking the opening. We tipped over the box right in front of the window, and checked for breakables. Then we pushed the box off the top of the stack.

K. then climbed through the opening by standing on a ladder which was turned on its side. She had to go through on her belly, and then turn herself over, get upright into a sitting position on top of the boxes and then swivel around to put her feet on the floor – thank goodness she’s a flexible kid – I never could have done it! I think tomorrow we will have extra keys made to keep outside 😮

Even with the breaking and entering going on, I had a lovely birthday today. My family took me out to dinner, and gave me a telephoto lens for my Canon Rebel – can’t wait to use it. Hub’s sister was able to join us, and we came back to the house for cake and ice cream…now I’m full and tired and cross-eyed, so it’s time to call it a day 😮

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Breaking and Entering

  1. Amanda Humeston says:

    ohh happy late b day! and haha i just cant see her doing tht with out hurting herself!! i mean youve seen how she is wit drinks!lol:)

Leave a Reply

