Loving My Present

I ran outside first thing with my new telephoto lens – I just LO-O-OVE it! Here are some of the critters who hang out in our back yard…I have no idea what any of them are, so if anybody knows of a good field guide for coastal birds, let me know.

:
The guy above was grazing just off the bank in our yard.

 

I call this area “Bird Rock” – there are always critters hanging out here.

 

This bird was wading just off Bird Island, which is right next to Bird Rock.

 

This tree is a favorite for wing-drying…this looks like a headless bird, but he’s just got his head laying down on his back – quite flexible!

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Loving My Present

  1. Silky Sienna says:

    These photo’s are georgeous! I think the white bird is an American Egret…I have them out back on my creek, until winter. The blue one looks to be a big Blue Heron, I get those, but not as blue. Are you on the East coast, or gulf, by any chance? I have an old John James Audubon book of his paintings, but the Audubon Society sells field guides for various regions, and most book stores will have those. Good luck!

    • donnahuebsch says:

      We are in Clearwater, FL, on a brackish creek which connects to Tampa Bay, so I guess you could say we’re on the gulf. Are you on the gulf, too? Thanks for the bird ID’s…earlier today I ordered a field guide off Amazon which should be here in a few days – it will be fun identifying all the wildlife.

      • Silky Sienna says:

        Well, that explains why you have these birds this time of year – they winter over in Florida before coming home here, up north, in South Jersey, right next to Philadelphia. I suspect they will be returning in a month or so. Enjoy your field guide!

  2. Silky Sienna says:

    And I think the charcoal colored one is a cormorant; I get those too. They always stand their with their wings outstretched like they are sweating under their wings, or praying, or praising something, like the Pope.

  3. Very cool photos … what type of camera do you have? I have a point and shoot and my photography interest has been taking off lately so another camera may be in the future. I want to be able to zoom in on images in the distance (like you have done here). These photos are perfect!
    Debbie 🙂

Leave a Reply

