And the Mystery Bird Is…

A Yellow-crowned Night Heron…hubby found the Florida bird guide and we ID’ed the bird visitor from a couple of days ago. It was the first time one of these birds has looked exactly like his picture in the book:

There’s an interesting wikipedia article about this bird, as well as a hilarious discussion between two people who are all huffy about the choice of pictures to be used.  Now I know what the bird is doing in one of my pictures – the article says they “wait in ambush at the water’s edge”:


I like living here! 😮

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Wildlife and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to And the Mystery Bird Is…

  1. eof737 says:

    I would too… I was taking a walk with a friend at one of our smaller parks in my village and we saw a heron. I tired to capture it on my cellphone but the picture didn’t do it justice like yours.
    Love the photo as you really captured the bird! 🙂
    I’ve been on college visits with my twins hence my absence…
    Finally catching up on comments!
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

