New Lamp Posts

We’re back into the thick of things at the house.  Our first priority right now is to repair some items that are issues with our homeowners insurance – unless we remedy them, our carrier will cancel our insurance on May 9th.

So far Jim has removed some exposed wiring outside that used to power a spa (no longer there) and an irrigation well (no longer used, and probably no longer functional anyway).  There is some exposed wiring on our patio, which looks like lamp posts used to be there, and some more wires where wall lamps used to be.  It was my mission today to locate new lamp posts and wall lamps.


We wanted to get a 3-light lamp post in some shade of brown…after a little online shopping, we felt like we would have to buy something locally to get it installed in time.  I struck out at Home Depot, but had better luck at Lowe’s…there was a great-looking 3-light lamp post that was rust colored (not to be confused with rusty) and – the best part – it was only $103!!  I picked up two of them, plus two outdoor wall lamps.

Jim tackled the installation when he got home…he got one lamp post assembled and it’s ready to bolt down.  He also hooked up one wall lamp – however, when he flipped the switch, there was no power.  Fearing a broken wire between the switch and fixture, Jim removed the wall lamp and tried to troubleshoot the problem.  I went in to finish getting dinner ready…however, I found that the microwave wasn’t working – a GFCI outlet was tripped.  Bingo!  When I reset it, there was power to the outdoor wall lamp wiring.  (Don’t worry, I gave Jim warning before I reset it – no electrical shocks around here please!)  By then it was late and dark, so Jim called it a day.

In other news, I am limping around with yet another broken toe!  Nice, huh?

First of all, I should know better than to wear flip flops – I was rushing through the garage and caught my right foot on something. After almost doing a face plant on the driveway, I managed not to fall, but in all my wild flailing, I think I rolled my left foot, and somehow managed to break my toe.

K. got her first Invisalign tray today – there are 24 trays total, and we go in every 2 weeks to get the next tray. She has to wear them 22 hours a day. Right now, they’re making her teeth VERY sore. I’ll be glad when her mouth gets adjusted and doesn’t hurt anymore!

That’s all the news for today — more to come in the Huebsch House Chronicles!

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Renovation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Lamp Posts

  1. eof737 says:

    Boy, you got plenty on your plate… Hope your toe heals soon, it looks painful. The lamp post is cute, I’ll get it if I were you. Get some rest this weekend as you still have a few days before your deadline.
    Happy weekend!
    Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

