Mr. Fix-it Magician

For those of you who don’t know, my husband is somewhat of a Mr. Fix-it magician. Somehow, someway, he always knows how to take something broken and repair it, something that doesn’t work and make it work again. Take the icemaker in our house…before we left on our trip, we had turned off the water to the house. We’re still not comfortable enough with the condition of the house to leave it on and risk coming back to our own personal version of the Great Flood.

Once back and with the water on again, I discovered that the icemaker didn’t seem to be making ice…in addition to that, it had developed a really loud, annoying whine. I did what I could to troubleshoot the problem (i.e. I opened the door and peered inside), so I knew it was time to call in the pro, Mr. Fix-it Magician. I mentioned the problem and asked him to take a look at it when he had a minute.

The next morning I opened the icemaker door – it was full of ice again! “How did you DO that?” I questioned my husband. He shrugged. “I just opened the door and looked around.” Hey, how come that didn’t work for me?? I told you – he’s a magician.

I knew this early on in our relationship – we were driving somewhere in his car and his car just quit running. Kaput. We had stopped in the middle of the road (fortunately not a busy one). We looked at each other…I could practically see the gears turning in his head. After a minute, he asked me to open the glove compartment and hand him a little fuse that was in there. He dove under the dashboard, piddled around a few seconds, and then started the car right up. “How did you DO that?” (I’ve asked that a lot over 25+ years of marriage.) He shrugged. “I dunno.” Just the fact that he even thought of something to try was amazing to me, and the fact that it worked right away was even more amazing.

Over the years this man has probably saved us thousands and thousands of dollars in repair bills with his magical abilities. And renovating this house – well, that’s right up his alley! When I was a kid, I thought my dad could fix or build anything. When I grew up, I wanted to marry a guy who could do the same thing – I got my wish 😮

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Renovation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mr. Fix-it Magician

  1. eof737 says:

    Oh you lucky devil! I hope you know that well and tell him constantly what a genius he is! 🙂
    Eliz

Leave a Reply

