Vote in Our Closet Door Poll

(5/2/2011 – We were getting so many good, alternative suggestions for door styles that I changed the 4th option in my poll…so if you don’t like the 1st three choices, vote for the fourth and leave me a comment about what you’d recommend :o)

Jim told me recently that he needs to know what kind of doors I want on the his-and-her master closets…thankfully I got a little reprieve on making up my mind while his attention is diverted to the repair issues outside because I don’t have a CLUE what I want!

I do know what my options are, so maybe you guys can help me by voting in my door poll below. Here’s what we’re working with…we will each have our own walk-in closet, and they’re about the same size.


One option is a bifold door…I like the way that a bifold door doesn’t take up a lot of room when it’s open, but I don’t like the way the opening is framed for bifolds…there’s just something a little goofy-looking to me about tacking door frame trim on only one side of the opening.










Another option is a 6-panel door opening into the closet…A 6-panel door opening IN would not block the hallway, but would require me to step into the closet and close the door to get to anything that’s stored behind the door.









The third option is a 6-panel door opening into the hallway…a 6-panel door opening OUT would block the hallway, but not block any of the items stored in the closet.





So what do you think? Give me your opinion and vote in my poll! Any comments or suggestions would also be appreciated 😮

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Renovation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Vote in Our Closet Door Poll

  1. kiwiflossnz says:

    Have you considered a cavity sliding door system whereby the door disappears into a space in the wall?

    • donnahuebsch says:

      A pocket door flitted through my mind as an option, but I’ve always had a little trouble opening them with that little dip you put your fingers in, and then grabbing the little latch to close them…I think I need a big, honkin’ handle to hang on to 😮

  2. eof737 says:

    I voted for the bi-fold although the sheet might be expedient! 🙂
    Eliz

  3. Pam says:

    I hated having the door opening into the closet! You have to close the door to get stuff from behind it and I didn’t like that “closed in” feeling. My closet door now opens out, but when I have to get in there for any sorting or cleaning, I take the door off the hinges for more room getting in and out. I’d vote for the pocket door – maybe you can get your Handyman to make a bigger handle in the door.

  4. Deb says:

    I really like the pocket door idea. I used to have one on my bathroom door -now granted it was not easy to lock the door which is sometimes necessary in the bathroom. I currently have a panel door that opens inward on my walk-in closet. It is functional but does use valuable space and it does not have a lock so I think most people don’t have a need to lock their closet doors. if this is true of you I would go with the pocket door. I have seen some with beautiful frosted glass that really classes up the place-that is what I would love to have. If wall space is an issue you could consider putting half a door on each side in the wall and then they would pull together to meet in the middle. As for the handle I am sure a skilled carpenter could give you better options than the little latch! Good luck!

  5. Michele says:

    I’m a fan of my closet door that opens in. It forces me to keep the floor relatively clean and I hang my necklaces and bracelets on the back – using tie racks. The bi-fold doors we have don’t do a very good job of staying in their tracks.

  6. Beth says:

    My closet door opens in and I have no problem with that. Here’s a hint – don’t put the stuff you use a ton behind the door. =P

    Came over from YHL, btw. Sometimes blog plugging works!! Wheee!

    • donnahuebsch says:

      Hubby is definitely leaning towards a door that opens in – I am still straddling the fence…but yeah, that’s a good idea to put little-used stuff behind the door – maybe seasonal clothing.

      Thanks for coming over from YHL – don’t you just love those guys?

  7. Pingback: The Master Closet Doors Are Installed! | Huebsch House Chronicles

Leave a Reply

