An Off Day

I guess everyone has an off day now and then – well, this was definitely one of them. It started early this morning…since K. is a homeschooler, she takes a couple of classes in the afternoon at a local school. However, her drama class is preparing for a production of “Get Smart” which starts performances tomorrow night, and they had an all day rehearsal today. All day. And they started very early in the day – for us anyway. K. and I are definitely not morning people. Bleary-eyed, we stumbled around and managed to make it out the door on time.

On the way to school, K. realized she didn’t have her Invisaligns in…I dropped her off, went back home, picked up the Invisaligns, and took them by her school. By then it was time for me to head off to my own rip-roaring, fun-filled morning of two root canals and three crowns at the dentist’s office. Yeah, it was as much fun as it sounds. I arrived at 10:30 and left 2 hours later, with a numb mouth and a much lighter checking account.

Adding to the off-ness of the day is the fact that I’m still hobbling around with a very painful foot (scan halfway down this post from the other day for a picture). Also, K. has been battling a head cold for several days now…she’s trying her best to keep it from getting really bad so that she can get through the play. She wanted to use a neti pot, but I hadn’t seen it since we moved, so we improvised. There was a water/salt/baking soda rinsing solution recipe on the Internet that we whipped up – we just needed a way to rinse with it…I came across my turkey baster – well, all I can say is that it works, and also that it is permanently retired from my kitchen. I mentioned our resourcefulness to hubby, who said, “Well, I saw the turkey baster in the bathroom, but I was afraid to ask what it was for.” My mind reels with the possibilities 😮

I was reminded of another bit of my husband’s dry humor as I tidied up the kitchen this evening and tossed a bag of barely-touched chips into the trash. It was a new flavor of Lay’s – Tomato and Basil…well, the pictures on the bag looked really good. And it was BOGO – buy one get one free, which I’m a real sucker for, so I got one regular bag and thought I would try this new flavor. Jim opened the bag and popped a chip in his mouth and paused. “Did you mean to buy these?” he asked. No, honey, I thought I was grabbing a package of toilet paper…yes, of course, I meant to buy them. “Yeah, they were BOGO,” I began to explain. He was incredulous. “You bought TWO of them??” They were obviously not a crowd-pleaser. I have to admit, I didn’t care for them either.  We decided that, instead of BOGO, they were BOTOITT – Buy One, Throw One In The Trash.  Mr. Lay’s, I hope you find someone who likes these more than we did!

I just checked out Jim’s repair job on one of our exterior window sills – gosh, he does good work. I will post some pictures once he puts the finishing touches on it – in fact, I will share all the repairs he’s done to satisfy our insurance company so that they will, hopefully, continue our coverage.

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to An Off Day

  1. eof737 says:

    Hmmm, one would expect that combo to be tasty… Pity really! Hope everyone is feeling better and Happy Mother’s Day as it approaches. 🙂

Leave a Reply

