A/C Issues

K. and I walked into the house on Tuesday after her classes and I noticed that it was distinctly WARM. Sometimes it’s just post-menopausal me feeling the heat, so I walked over to check the setting on the thermostat and — it was completely blank – DEAD. Now, having just spent megabucks in Feb. for 2 brand new A/C systems, I was more than a little irritated. After spending that kind of money, I want to bask in air-conditioned comfort and not have a single molecule of sweat on my body.

I pulled the thermostat off the wall, thinking that perhaps a battery was dead. However, this unit doesn’t use batteries (unlike our last house), so a lack of battery power was not the problem. I went out to the garage to checked for any tripped breakers – everything looked A-OK in the breaker box.

I decided to swap the balky thermostat in the family room with the one in the master bedroom, just to see if the problem was the unit itself. When swapped, the one in the family room still had a blank display, so it was not the thermostat. Hmmm, I was running out of ideas, so I phoned the A/C company which did our install.

The lady who answered the phone obviously had a lot of experience dealing with A/C ignoramuses (ignorami?) like me, because she knew right off the bat what the probable cause of the problem was…she said that if the condensate line was plugged and couldn’t drain properly, the unit has a safety sensor which will cause it to shut down. That’s actually a good thing, since a plugged condensate line can cause an UNBELIEVABLE amount of damage – just ask my sister and her hubby, who came home from a trip to find collapsed ceilings and furniture destroyed from flooding due to a condensate line problem. The A/C lady scheduled someone to come out the next morning for a service call.

In the meantime I asked hubby to looked around in the attic when he got home to see if he might be able to spot the problem and get the A/C going again – the idea of sitting around sweating all night wasn’t appealing to me, and I didn’t want to spend the evening sitting in the renovation zone, which had the working A/C. After a quick trip to the attic, Jim checked the condensate line, blew in it (ew!), and came back downstairs – amazingly enough, the A/C started working again…he’s MacGyver, I tell ya!

The service guy checked things out the next morning, and the condensate line does indeed appear to have been the problem…he said it was actually tipped “uphill” so that the water was draining backwards and tripping the safety sensor. He said that he leveled it out (which makes me wonder, shouldn’t he have tipped it “downhill”? Oh well, we’ll see if this fixes things) and to let them know if we have any more problems…you betcha!

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Renovation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A/C Issues

  1. eof737 says:

    Jim to the rescue… He really should set up his own construction fix it business when all is done. šŸ™‚
    E

  2. Team Oyeniyi says:

    There is nothing more annoying than something new and expensive not working! I agree about your thoughts on directionality, downwards would seem sensible to me too!

  3. solodialogue says:

    Oh to have a Jim in my life! My husband is completely clueless about stuff like this and I’m not much better off. I would not even have done all the checking you did switching out the thermostats! Hooray that he got it working and the problem was resolved! Btw, I’m jealous of your weather… šŸ™‚

    • donnahuebsch says:

      Thanks – he really IS my MacGyver. I’m thankful he’s so handy, but if he hadn’t been, we never would have tackled this house – we would have looked for something move-in ready. Speaking of the weather, must still be cool where you are šŸ˜®

Leave a Reply

