Jim & Donna’s Excellent LED Adventure (Part II)

For the first part of this story, please read Jim & Donna’s Excellent LED Adventure (Part I).

There was something not right with the receipt from Home Depot – actually TWO things not right:

Well, this receipt was all cattywampus – I was dreading explaining it to the Returns clerk, but it turns out the lady was super-sharp. She had me fixed up in a flash…first she took the return of the 2 incandescent fixtures and credited me for them. Then she credited me for the extra LED fixture they charged us for. And since I was there to buy 2 more cans, she said they could just ring me up for 4 to square away their inadvertent freebies. Her only suggestion was bring my stuff back to her to check out, because the other clerks might “get confused” 😮

So two more cans and two more LED fixtures later, I headed back to the hacienda. At his next opportunity, Jim got these puppies installed in our closets. I wanted each light centered in each closet. His worked out fabulously, nice and neat and centered (don’t worry about that hole – it’s from the old fixture and will get patched):

Mine, however, was a different story. Jim informed me that if he centered the light, the trim would be touching the A/C register – ACK! Not allowed. Dad-gum-it, I just had the A/C guys put that new register in…why did I pick that spot? OK, I’m thinking, this is not a huge deal, we’ll just move it forward 3 or 4 inches to clear the register, and keep it centered from side-to-side…Jim then informed me that it would hit a joist there and it needed to move a little further toward the door. ACK! OK, now I’m trying not to hyperventilate…I don’t want the ding-dang light way over by the door!!

So finally I told hubby, just move it forward the smallest amount you can to clear the joist, which he did and – it looks fine – I just keep telling the OCD part of me that wants it centered and symmetrical, “LET. IT. GO.” There is a nice little lesson in this photo for “measure twice and cut once”- see if you can spot it. Hint: it’s not the hole – that was the old light fixture and it will get patched. 😮


To summarize, we’re in love with our new LED fixtures – they are ALL-PRO LED Retrofit Modules and Trim. They’re 65 watt equivalent, last for 22 years, are rated for wet locations (we don’t expect that in our hallway and closet) and are dimmable. And the light they put out looks great! So ends this chapter of our Excellent LED Adventure – I’m sure there will be more to come!

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Renovation and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Jim & Donna’s Excellent LED Adventure (Part II)

  1. eof737 says:

    You are working so hard… Keep it UP! 🙂

  2. Jackie Paulson Author says:

    I always read my receipts it just figures that happened to you. I noticed lately that at McDonald’s and other place the “CHANGE” is spood out for the cashier: they don’t even have to count anymore! Now all they do is run the product over a scanner (too many times) and over charge how hard is that.!?

    • donnahuebsch says:

      Plus the cashier was using a hand-held scanner and was ringing up some stuff without us taking it out of the cart…plus she was new. We will definitely be checking our receipts more closely from now on!

Leave a Reply

