Sweet 16 (Part I) – The Driver’s Test

It has been a very busy and exciting week celebrating K.’s Sweet 16th birthday!  While I had approached this birthday with no particular expectations, I didn’t realize until recently that K. did have some. (Note to others – check with your kids at least 6 months prior to any birthday to see if they have anything special in mind…it will give you more time to work on it 🙂 )

First of all, she wanted to get her driver’s license ON her 16th birthday.  I figured this had the potential of either making her birthday really special, or totally ruining it!  She’s had her permit since the day she turned 15, and practiced for the driving test in particular for weeks and weeks.

The only maneuver that proved difficult was the pull-in parking.  The Florida driver’s manual states that you have to parked centered between the lines.  We practiced and practiced and although she improved, it tended to be hit or miss.

The day before the test, we drove to the DMV and took a look at the parking space for the exam – I cringed…it was EXTREMELY narrow and K. would be driving our big barge of an SUV for the test.

The parking spot was flanked by four tall cones…I tried pulling in and just barely made it.  K. tried and missed, but pulled in on another try.  We went home and stewed about it for a day (K. out loud and me silently).

The next day I took her to the DMV for her test.  She was a nervous wreck.  After the guy took her out for the drive, I called Jim and just broke down and cried.  “I’m afraid she won’t pass and it’ll ruin her 16th birthday,” I whimpered into the phone.

After a while of waiting, I went to the restroom, which was by the front doors.  When I came out, I glanced outside and saw our big ole’ SUV parked nice and pretty between the cones – she had done it!!  As it turns out, she did it on her first try.

The guy kept us in suspense as he added up her points, and finally announced that she had passed!  We grabbed and hugged each other (K. and me, not me and the guy), and I cried again!  Her long-held dream of getting her driver’s license on her 16th birthday had come true.

As an interesting side note, prior to getting her license, we found a web site that predicts what your license number will be based on your name, gender, birth date, and favorite ice cream flavor (OK, I made up that last one).  We jotted it down and compared it the actual number she got and it was EXACTLY right (cue creepy music)…how do they do that??

Stay tuned for the rest of the Sweet 16 story in my next post 🙂

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sweet 16 (Part I) – The Driver’s Test

  1. ElizOF says:

    Happy Birthday and Congratulations K for this major milestone! ♥ ♫ HAPPY BIRTHDAY to YOU!♥ ♫ 🙂

  2. Michele says:

    Wow! My girls were watching our wedding video last night and when K flashed by I said – oh she must be at least 15 by now. Who knew – it’s 16! Way to go on the license.

  3. Congrats, I had two kids test at the same time in a bad rain storm. I thought I would have a heart attack. They both didn’t pass but at long last we are finished at the DMV!

  4. Pingback: Sweet 16 (Part II) – The Rest of the Birthday | Huebsch House Chronicles

Leave a Reply

