Patriotic BabyCakes

K. got a BabyCakes mini cupcake maker for her birthday.

(Source)

It’s not that she is a big cook – mainly it’s because it’s pink. And she likes sweets. A lot.  And it seemed like a fun way to bake things since we don’t have an oven right now…the previous owner removed kitchen appliances during the foreclosure and we’re not ready to renovate the kitchen yet, so we’ve put appliance-buying on hold.

I tried baking in a little toaster oven we have – it’s terrible!  The bottoms of cookies burn and stuff doesn’t cook evenly.

With yesterday being the Fourth, I wanted to have something a little special for dessert.  I kind of winced at the price tag on the $16 pack of pull-apart cupcakes decorated like a flag and decided to do something with the Babycakes maker.

First I baked some brownie bites with a standard box mix for chewy brownies.


One box of mix made 27 brownie bites…the Babycakes does 8 at a time. Once a batch was done, I carefully removed them by lifting them out chopsticks-style with two short wooden skewers. Paper liners are recommended when cooking the brownie bites, so they come out nice and clean. I cooled them on a wire rack, aka one of the racks from my toaster oven.


After they cooled a little, I popped open a tub of vanilla frosting, and dumped about 1/3 into a cup, and 1/3 into another cup. Then I colored one batch red and the other blue, and reserved the 1/3 white.


I used a little knife to spread the frosting on the brownies – a little stripe of red, one of white, and finally one of blue. They turned out cute, tasted delicious, and made my family smile, all for much less than 16 bucks!

Next up for the Babycakes maker – quiches…we’ll let you know how they turn out 🙂

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Food/Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Patriotic BabyCakes

  1. eof737 says:

    I’m drawn to the pretty pink color and its portability… that it makes lovely cakes is a bonus. Happy 4th! 🙂

  2. Karen says:

    Hi Donna!!!
    These are awesome!! I love that you bought a Babycakes for your daughter. She’s going to love it. You really don’t need an oven if you have this little machine. I love mine so much I created a blog about it called Snackgri-la. I have some great recipes on there she might like to try.
    The mini grilled cheese is the BEST!!
    Happy snacking!!
    Karen

Leave a Reply

