This IS Your Mother’s Dairy Queen (Maybe Even Your Grandmother’s)

Two hours of physical therapy on Monday left K. in intense need of a treat – her special request was a Blizzard from Dairy Queen, so we plugged “Dairy Queen” into our Garmin, Lolita. Yes, we have a name for our Garmin and we talk back to her.

As Lolita announced that we were arriving at our destination, I looked around for the familiar red ovoid with the big “DQ” in the middle – it was nowhere to be seen. Instead, there was this:
.

This impostor had swiped the good name of Dairy Queen and apparently had been getting away with it for quite a while:

I was ready to make a U-turn and give Lolita a piece of my mind, but decided to take a closer look:

There were posters in the windows for Blizzards and other familiar treats – why, yes, this WAS a Dairy Queen!

K. and I thought that maybe this was THE original Dairy Queen, but a little Internet research told us that Dairy Queen actually started in 1940 with a shop in Joliet, Illinois. By 1950, when this store we visited was built, there were 1,446 franchises. Today there are over 5,900 locations worldwide. Warren Buffett tends to buy what he likes, so that explains why Dairy Queen is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway.

So we were able to get our much-craved DQ treats after all. Of course, there was no drive-through, so I actually had to walk up to the window to place my order. *gasp!* There was a little bell chained to the counter, in case you needed to get someone’s attention.

As I was waiting to pay with my American Express card clutched in my hand, I noticed this sign in the window:

Luckily, I had a little cash in my wallet. One Triple Chocoholic and one Mint Oreo Blizzard later, we left happy πŸ™‚

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to This IS Your Mother’s Dairy Queen (Maybe Even Your Grandmother’s)

  1. Lona says:

    Whoa–that’s quite a blast from the past! Love it!

  2. donnahuebsch says:

    Who knew these were still around?! Their sign is the old original logo, BTW – they changed it to the red ovoid in the late 50’s.

  3. eof737 says:

    Quite the story… and they don’t take credit cards! πŸ™‚

    • donnahuebsch says:

      And I usually don’t have a dollar in my wallet, but I had picked up a little cash since we were travelling…thank goodness – wouldn’t have wanted to go without our Blizzards πŸ™‚

  4. Wow that is crazy–thanks for sharing! πŸ˜€

  5. donnahuebsch says:

    I do love running across places like this…

Leave a Reply

