W-A-L-L-P-A-P-E-R (A Dirty Word at Our House) – Part II

(For Part I of this story, click here.)

I was disappointed at the lack of choices on the Home Depot shelves – however, one product did catch my eye:


(Photo Source)

It was still DIF, the brand I had used before, only it was in gel form. And this was the eye-catching phrase – “No Drip – No Mess”. The liquid DIF had run all down the walls and was a huge mess. The gel was supposed to cling where you sprayed it, hopefully giving it more time to soak in and do its job. I decided to give it a try.

I started by scoring the walls as before with a Zinnser PaperTiger scoring tool:

Next I sprayed the DIF gel – they were right – “No Drip – No Mess”…I liked it already and I didn’t even know if it was going to work!

After I sprayed the first section of wallpaper, I waited the required 15 minutes, and then came the moment of truth – would this stuff let me peel the wallpaper off?

The border peeled off in relatively big sheets, leaving pieces that were pretty easy to lift up with my scraping tool.

Sorry, I’ve been wanting to play with an animated GIF file πŸ™‚

I was able to remove the border on the whole wall in a fraction of the time that it took to do the other wall.

After removing the border, it took another application to remove the glue residue, and then I rinsed the area with water and a sponge.

To summarize, I was REALLY happy with the DIF gel product. It didn’t run down the walls, and let me peel up the wallpaper in big pieces. Another thing I liked about it was that, after you sprayed the initial application, you waited 15 minutes and started removing the wallpaper, whereas with the liquid you sprayed, waited 15 minutes, sprayed AGAIN, and then began removing the wallpaper. Add another thumb to this picture, ‘cuz I give it TWO thumbs up πŸ™‚

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in DIY, Renovation and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to W-A-L-L-P-A-P-E-R (A Dirty Word at Our House) – Part II

  1. barb19 says:

    Fantastic Donna! Glad it worked for you – it has saved you a lot of extra time!
    Loved the little GIF animation (I wondered what was happening at first!)

  2. donnahuebsch says:

    Thanks! It looks better if all the pictures are taken from exactly the same spot, but we decided to do the animation after the pictures were already done, just for fun. I’ve seen animation GIFs in some other blogs and have been wanting to learn how to do one πŸ™‚

  3. Woohoo! I’m snagging this product when we get to the living room! All 4 walls AND the ceiling are wallpapered >_<

  4. eof737 says:

    Good for you and I loved the GIF! That was a riot! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

