The RSC Brace

My last few posts were all about our trip out to California to pick up K.’s brace for her scoliosis. I thought I would share a little info. about the brace.

It’s called an RSC brace – that’s short for “Rigo System Cheneau” brace…it kind of looks like a bionic chunk of Swiss cheese. It’s a very rigid plastic, but the holes allow for torso movement and expansion in the desired places. It’s especially designed to work in conjunction with the Schroth physical therapy program for the treatment of scoliosis.

The brace is manufactured by a German company called Ortholutions. We got a big kick out of seeing how they wrote the German spelling of our last name, Huebsch – they used the umlaut u 🙂 :

K. will wear the brace at night and maybe a little while watching TV. Kids who are still experiencing a lot of growth have to wear these braces 22 hours a day. We are building up her wearing time gradually, because the brace is pretty painful at first.

Our goal is to avoid surgery and keep her curves from getting worse. Also, we want to relieve the back pain. Some people actually see a curve reduction using the brace with the Schroth therapy, but that’s not a guarantee. We will give it our best shot and see what happens.

Many thanks to everyone involved in the process of getting the brace for K. and getting her physical therapy program set up! Special thanks to Grant Wood and the great staff at Hanger Prosthetics and also to Kimberly Ganz,  PT 🙂

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Family, Scoliosis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The RSC Brace

  1. Pat says:

    Wow, it looks really uncomfortable! I can’t figure out how it looks on—guess K will have to show us sometimes. Good luck K!

    • donnahuebsch says:

      It IS really uncomfortable right now – it really presses into the two curves in her spine. But the orthotist says that should ease up as her body adjusts. Tell Uncle Bill thanks for his help 🙂

  2. Ceci Colbert says:

    K is a brave girl to take that on. I hope it becomes second nature and doesn’t disturb her sleep. And I hope it helps improve the problem and avoid surgery. Good luck!!!!!!

  3. ElizOF says:

    I pray it does the job for her… Sending healing light her way.
    I’m finally catching up on everyone’s blog. Thank you for your patience! 🙂

  4. acitygirlscountrydream says:

    I also had to wear a brace when I was younger although for the life of me I can not think of the name of that awful contraption. Oh wait. I mention awful and it came to me. Milwalkee brace. Anyway I hated it. it went from my chin all the way down to my hips. I have to wear cotton wife beaters to keep my skin from sweating like crazy and breaking out in rashes, which still happened but not as bad. But the long term effect is I did not have to have surgery and I am not a hunched over adult so it helped. The brace for your daughter looks much better than what I had to wear and it looks like in might be a little more inconspicuous under clothes. Good luck. I am enjoying your blog.

  5. acitygirlscountrydream says:

    I meant to say “had” to wear wife beaters. I have not had to wear that brace for years THANK GOD

  6. A City Girl says:

    Well it is a couple of years later how did things turn out with the brace? I forgot to also mention I still had a slight curve in my spine and it cause a lot of pain. I would up going to a chiropractor who put me in so much pain it was pathetic but I stuck with the therapy and wound up doing wonders. I was pain free for a good 10 years. I think I might have to go through treatment again though as I am starting to experience a tad bit of pain again.

  7. donnahuebsch says:

    She hasn’t worn the brace in months. She did the Schroth therapy intensively for 8 months, but had other health issues. But so far, no surgery.

Leave a Reply

