Roseate Spoonbill

I know it’s been forever since I last posted – much has been happening, which is why I haven’t written in a while, and I will try to post a detailed update soon.

For now I wanted to share a photo of our new backyard visitor. As I’ve mentioned before, Allen’s Creek runs right through our back yard. It’s a brackish water creek that feeds into Tampa Bay, which connects with the Gulf of Mexico. We are really enjoying watching and identifying the wildlife. So far we’ve seen lots of turtles, pelicans, yellow-crowned night herons, crabs, white ibis, anhinga, river otters and ducks.

Recently I saw a big pink bird flying by…I started yelling that there was a flamingo out back and ran to get my camera.  After examining the shots I took and taking a close look at the fellow’s beak, I realized that it wasn’t a flamingo – our bird book helped me I.D. it as a roseate spoonbill.

It was gorgeous!  It’s the only spoonbill bird species native to North America.  It is a wading bird which feeds by rhythmically sweeping its spatulate bill back and forth through the water.  I haven’t seen one feeding yet – this guy was just hanging out with his buddies on Bird Island.

This other little guy was also hanging out on Bird Island – I think he was posing to be on the back of a coin 🙂 I’m a little unsure, but I think he’s a great cormorant. They have a large hooked bill and a bright yellow throat patch bordered by white feathers. One of their characteristics is that, when perched wet, they will hold their wings in a spread eagle position to dry.

There’s never a dull moment in the Huebsch House back yard!

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Family, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

