Manatee Sighting

I was beside myself today – we saw a group of manatees swimming in the creek behind our house! We had seen one briefly yesterday, but it was at a distance and when I returned from getting my camera, it was already out of sight.

This morning we were sitting out on the patio having coffee and I had my camera with me, just in case. We saw a shape in the water and I told Jim that it was either a river otter or a manatee and I went to get a closer look. When I got to the edge of the water, there were several manatees feeding on the grasses along the creek bank! In the picture, they look like large gray rocks in the water.

There were either 4 or 5 of them, and one of them looked like a calf.

They moseyed down the creek behind our house, totally ignoring a partial head of lettuce that we tossed out. Several of them approached Bird Island to snack on the grass.

They eventually swam on, one of them giving us a good-bye flip of his paddle-shaped tail.

It’ll be interesting to see how long they hang out in this part of Allen’s Creek.

About donnahuebsch

I'm a wife, a mom to an unschooling teenager, an animal lover, an artsy craftsy kind of person, & a DIYer. We're embarking on our BIGGEST do-it-yourself project yet - renovating an entire house!
This entry was posted in Wildlife and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Manatee Sighting

  1. barb19 says:

    Oh Donna, how exciting that you saw these wonderful creatures – right at your back door. Bet you were glad you were prepared with your camera the day after you saw them! They are great shots, a rare sighting of these shy creatures.

  2. acitygirlscountrydream says:

    I remember when I lived in Florida how curious they were. If I were on the shore singing man-a-tee, man-a-tee they would always try to come up close. they are cute in an ugly way.

Leave a Reply

